But I do.

One, two, three and here it goes..

You pass by our favourite cafe and drop me a text, ‘Next date?’
You plucking a flower, tucking it behind my ear.
You holding the door open and leading me by the small of my back.
You pulling the chair out and helping me in.
You popping open my can of soda before ‘Would you?’ touches my lips.
Your postings of me.

Your introduction of me, ‘My girlfriend, Linda’.
Your little post it notes on my belongings.
You knowing my favourites.
You stirring up a cup of honey for me in the morning.
You turning on the shower to the right temperature before I step in.
You asking me to tune into a channel with a song dedication.

You seeking me at your most vulnerable.
You asking me to teach you.
Your apologies.
Your bear hug while I cry.
You asking then listening about my thoughts.
You not needing a reason to smile at me.

Your text ‘Have dinner with me?’.
You telling me to put on my prettiest dress and whisking me on a date.
You cutting my steak.
You dropping me off at work and popping by for lunch.
You getting me a comb and a shower cap.
You making me the first you turn to for every spare moment, every excitement and every disappointment.

Your ways of looking at me.
You holding my hands, always.
You tightening your grip when we hold hands during tougher times.
You talking of  inspirations for our home.
Your elaborate surprises.
You calling me baby.

You letting me have the first sip.
You watching my favourite series with me.
You cooking, scrubbing dishes and throwing trash.
Your attempts to scare me in the dark.
Your love for my pet.
You kissing me on the forehead.

Your whole honesty without omission.
Your special name for me in your phone book.
You holding conversations with my side of the circle.
Your ways of hinting me of your long nails.
Your countless reminders of your love for me.
You putting me at the top of your list.

You might not know how nice these are,
but I do.

Leave a Reply

